Reviews

Like Heaven
May 9th, 2016

“If you’re interested in a soulful, beyond comfy, magnificently appointed, welcoming, other worldly (like heaven) place to hang in Lewes, The Blue Water House is a slam dunk, NO brainer. LOVED every square centimeter of the place and the proprietors “get” people and deliver far beyond expectations. Thank you, thank you, BWH!”

All the best youse guys and thanks again.

Herby

 

“Cozy Valentine’s Weekend”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 2016

My husband and I decided to visit Lewes for a long weekend to celebrate Valentine’s Day. We couldn’t have chosen a better place to stay! While the temps outside were freezing, we had a warm, cozy stay at the fun and funky Blue Water House with outstanding hospitality provided by Rick and Ali. The Islamorada Room was well-appointed and nicely decorated. We had the opportunity to tour many of the other rooms and they were all equally as nice. The BWH is a great place to come back to after a day or night on the town in quaint downtown Lewes or neighboring Rehoboth Beach which is just a short drive away. Several nice touches like snacks, water, beer and wine that are readily available and laid back breakfasts in the spacious dining room. We look forward to visiting Lewes and the Blue Water House again in the future. If you choose to stay here you won’t be sorry. Kevin & Lori

Lori P, Trip Advisor

 

“Eclectic, fun and funky, with a surprise around every corner!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 29, 2015

Spent 4 days over Christmas, enjoying this unusual B and B. We had the Hemingway room, very comfortable and exotic, like being on a grand safari! Hosts Rick and Ali were accommodating and welcoming, we were royally treated. Kitchen and bar always open, a very pleasant atmosphere. Lewes is charming, with nice restaurants and proximity to resort towns, and movies. Absolutely recommend a visit here!

Judy W, Trip Advisor

 

“Best place to stay in Lewes!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 15, 2015

BWH has the most wonderful hosts, love the way the house is decorated, lots of funky art! Blue Water House has a perfect location, great hosts and fun rooms, what else can you ask for?! They have bikes that guests can borrow, hammock in the yard and 2nd floor rooms have access to the porch with serene views.

Katherine S, Trip Advisor

 

“Wonderful place to stay”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 30, 2015

Over 10 years ago when we were looking for a house to buy in Lewes we stayed at Blue Water House and loved it. So when trying to figure out someplace to spend the long Thanksgiving weekend we thought we would try it again and we weren’t disappointed. Both Ali & Rick were very welcoming from the first call I made to make the reservation, to greeting us when we arrived, to making a wonderful breakfast each morning. The decor is so eclectic and beachy, we loved it. We would definitely recommend Blue Water House for a comfortable fun stay in Lewes. We will definitely be back.

LGoodfriend, Trip Advisor

 

“Great place and great people!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 16, 2015

My husband and I stayed here for the weekend while we searched for places to live for our upcoming move. Our experience could not have been better! The B&B itself was fun and funky with a fantastic location close to the beach and town. Rick, Ally, and Tony were welcoming and had lots of advice to offer us as newcomers to the area. Tony even took time out of his Sunday to take my husband fishing for a few hours! We are so thankful for a wonderful first weekend in our new home town =)

Eric J, Trip Advisor

 

“A must go to in Delaware and very close to the beach”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 31, 2015

This is a BnB like we never have seen before. The decoration alone is so awesome and playful, that you wish to decorate you Home again. Everything is colorful and in every corner there is something new to explore. Every Room is different and follows a certain theme. We stayed in the Islamorado Room and it was the monkey room. It was very pretty and every room has excess to a balcony around the house.
You have a gathering room on the top floor that is just amazing and you have to see it to understand it.
The breakfast was totaly yummy and they had everything you can imagine (even beer for free). The beach is 4 minutes away and restaurants are around the corner.
We couldn’t have picked a better BnB. Way better than any five star Hotel.

Mareike R, Trip Advisor

 

“A Feast for the Eyes and Heart”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 25, 2015

I adored my time at the Blue Water House. Rick could not have been friendlier and the place is an absolute feast for the eyes and soul, with the most amazingly eclectic array of artwork and statuary decorating the walls. My room was clean, bright, and very comfy. I did not care for the door that led to an adjoining room since this subjects one to every cough, snore, and conversation from those next door, and interrupts privacy. Having said that, don’t let it stop you from staying here. I have the same issue when I travel for business and have come to consider this a design flaw and just one of those things, not a deal-breaker.

You won’t be disappointed with this B&B because the staff works hard to make you comfortable, well-fed, and relaxed. I am excited to return!

SacredOcean, Trip Advisor

Read all of The Blue Water House reviews from Trip Advisor (Over 250 reviews)

 

 

 

Magazine Excerpts:

“…the decor is a fantastic explosion of bold, whimsical colors and eccentric accessories. All rooms, located on the second floor, have private baths, king- and queen-sized beds, and French doors that open onto a porch that offers views of the town.”
Bryan D. Vargo, Delaware Today, September 2000

“There are a handful of good B&Bs in Lewes-including my new favorite . . . The Blue Water House, whose proximity to the beaches is enough reason to appreciate it.”
Roger Piantadosi, The Washington Post, Wednesday, May 31, 2000